Skip to content

My love for calamari

July 7, 2010

If there’s a calamari dish featured in your menu, I will most likely spend an inappropriate amount of time deliberating whether or not I should order it. Will it be overdone? Too tough? Too fried? If fried, will there be enough batter or too little? Will it be a plateful or -worse – just a few crumbs? Anyone who has gone out to eat with me can testify to this. I don’t know why, not quite sure when I discovered it or when I fell in love with it, but all I can say is that I love squid. I love squids and their tender, chewy, fleshy goodness. I like them crispy, I like them grilled, though I’ve never had them stuffed, from the pictures I’ve seen on TV and the net, I’m pretty sure they’re delicious.

I’ve had them at a Greek restaurant over a plate of rice, at a Cajun place in creole sauce  with a side of chorizo sausage as well as at Japanese restaurants fried in light and crispy tempura batter. However, my favourite will have the be the ones my family orders from Frederick’s. It’s a Hakka Chinese restaurant, my family gets dinner take outs from there every time there’s a party. I’ve never taken a picture of it, but you’ll have to trust me, it’s just a glorious plate of perfectly fried batter falling off tender white flesh.

Someday I will make them at home.

From → Eating Out, Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment